A place to find out about the work of people who are dedicated to rural education research across the world.


Professor and Associate Dean Simone White

Simone White is Professor and Associate Dean (International and Engagement) in the Faculty of Education at QUT. Simone’s area of expertise is Teacher Education and her publications, research and teaching are all focused on the key question of how to best prepare teachers and leaders for diverse communities (both local and global).
Jayne Downey

Professor Jayne Downey

Jayne Downey is a Professor in the Department of Education at Montana State University in Bozeman, MT where she serves as the Director of the Center for Research on Rural Education.

Dr. Amy Price Azano

Dr. Amy Price Azano is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at Virginia Tech. Her scholarship focuses on rural education, critical pedagogies of place, and special populations in rural schools.

Dr. Catharine Biddle

Dr. Catharine Biddle is an Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership at the University of Maine. Her scholarship focuses on how rural schools and communities are responding to 21st century social and economic change and how youth and community members organize and lead rural educational change.
Devon Brenner

Professor Devon Brenner

Devon Brenner is Professor of teacher education in the College of Education at Mississippi State University in Starkville Mississippi and coordinates education initiatives in the MSU Office of Research and Economic Development. Brenner is currently co-editor of The Rural Educator, journal of the National Rural Education Association.
Associate Professor Hernán Cuervo

Associate Professor Hernán Cuervo

Hernán Cuervo is an Associate Professor in the Melbourne Graduate School of Education and Deputy Director of the Youth Research Centre, at The University of Melbourne.

Natalie Downes

Natalie Downes is a researcher in the Rural Education and Communities research group at the University of Canberra. She also works with the University of Canberra Widening Participation unit.
Melyssa Fuqua

Melyssa Fuqua

Melyssa Fuqua has a PhD from Monash University in Melbourne, Australia.

Associate Professor Casey Jakubowski

Jerry Johnson

Professor Jerry Johnson

Jerry Johnson is the Lydia E. Skeen Endowed Professor in Education and Chair of the Department of Educational Leadership at Kansas State University. His department includes graduate programs in both K-12 educational leadership and adult education, including programs that are offered on-site in rural communities throughout the state.
Hobart Harmon

Hobart L. Harmon Ph.D.

Dr. Hobart Harmon is a leading expert on public education in rural America and Leader of Strategic Advancement at Intermediate Unit 8 in Altoona, PA. Harmon holds a courtesy appointment as a Senior Research Associate in the Department of Educational Leadership at Kansas State University.

Associate Professor Melissa Langdon

Associate Professor Melissa Langdon is an academic and media commentator on enabling education, women at work, and social innovation.

Dr. Jesse Moon Longhurst

Jesse Longhurst is an Assistant Professor of Education in the School of Education at Southern Oregon University in Ashland, Oregon. She coordinates the Master of Arts in Teaching program for secondary education and teaches in the Master of Arts and Sciences in Education program.